25 winners from 25 years celebrate The National Lottery’s 25th Birthday


Lottery winners from across the past 25 years made a glamorous line-up in a Vanity Fair inspired photo-shoot today as they celebrated a quarter century of The National Lottery.  With winnings worth more than £110 million between them, the lucky individuals gathered together to share tips and reveal how their lives have been transformed by their win.

The photograph, shot by celebrity photographer Sven Arnstein, features some of the biggest winners from the incredible 5,500 millionaires that have now been created by The National Lottery games. The line-up includes Brian Caswell from Bolton and Bev Middleton from Bradford who won £24.9m and £14.5m respectively on EuroMillions. Major Lotto winners include Tom Naylor from Staffordsire who won £15.5 million in 2001 and Sarah Cockings from Whitley Bay who banked £3 million back in 2005. The Winners travelled far and wide to take part in the photo-shoot from the Scottish Highlands and Northern Ireland to Cornwall and Newcastle; with ages spanning from 26 to 84 years old.

The 25th National Lottery Birthday line-up includes:

1995 Elaine Thompson Newcastle Lotto £2,704,666
1996 Deana Sampson Sheffield Lotto £5,439,681
1997 Cheryl Brudenell Stockton on Tees Lotto £916,915
1998 Viv Moss Newquay, Cornwall Lotto £6,048,499
1999 Sam Lange Seaford Lotto £1,575,878
2000 Ray Wragg Sheffield Lotto £7,649,520
2001 Tom Naylor Staffordshire Lotto Extra £15,528,286
2002 Sarah Ibbetson Leeds Lotto £3,013,767
2003 Trish Emson Rotherham Lotto £1,747,728
2004 Ben Woods Liverpool Lotto £2,485,736
2005 Sarah Cockings Whitley Bay Lotto £3,045,705
2006 Geraldine Bradley Llanarthne, SW Wales Lotto £3,570,063
2007 Kerri-Ann Robinson Stevenage Lotto £2,543,691
2008 Tracy Field Benfleet, Essex Lotto £2,561,513
2009 Brian Caswell Bolton EuroMillions £24,951,269.40
2010 Susan Herdman Yorkshire Lotto £1,182,714
2011 Geoffrey Bennette Lancashire Lotto £3,530,707
2012 Libby Elliott Fife Lotto £2,159,664
2013 Dione Buss Bridgwater Lotto £1,888,630
2014 Matt Myles Hereford EuroMillions £1,000,000
2015 Anne Canavan N Ireland EuroMillions £1,054,000
2016 Jamie Heavens Bournemouth National Lottery Scratchcard £1,000,000
2017 Bev Middleton Bradford EuroMillions £14,509,500
2018 Arron Walshaw Ossett, W Yorks Lotto £1,000,000
2019 Natalie Metcalfe South Glos EuroMillions £1,000,000