Chelsea left blue after disappointing run at the London Football Awards…


by Amy Christophers

It may have been the hottest party in town, but Chelsea FC were left out in the cold! (which pains me to say as a blues fan myself!) The 2018 London Football Awards took place last night at the Battersea Evolution and despite storm Emma’s best efforts the show went on.

Last year chelsea were on a good run and were looking the likely champions of the premier league title, which of course they became and this was reflected in last years awards; Chelsea cleaned up!

However, this year it was a totally different story, The London blue’s lost out in every category they were nominated in – much to my disappointment believe me! Even the Chelsea ladies lost out.

Spurs golden boy Kane took the big win of the evening, the Premier League Player of the Year. The Owl as I like to call him – Roy Hodgson won Manager of the Year for the eagles. And Fulham’s Ryan Sessegnon cleaned up taking home Young Player of the Year and the English Football League Player of the Year award.

Arsenal legend Ian did al-Wright on the night as he was acknowledged for his outstanding contribution to football – maybe he should give Wenger a few tips!

The winners

English Football League Player of the Year

Winner: Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham


Josh Clarke – Brentford

George Saville – Millwall

Romaine Sawyers – Brentford

Alex Smithies – Queens Park Rangers

Goalkeeper of the Year

Winner: Daniel Bentley – Brentford


Adrián – West Ham United

Thibaut Courtois – Chelsea

Heurelho Gomes – Watford

Hugo Lloris – Tottenham Hotspur

Manager of the Year

Winner: Roy Hodgson – Crystal Palace


Emma Hayes – Chelsea Ladies

Slaviša Jokanović – Fulham

Neil Harris – Millwall

Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur

Outstanding Contribution to London Football

Winner: Ian Wright

Premier League Player of the Year

Winner: Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur


César Azpilicueta – Chelsea

Christian Eriksen – Tottenham Hotspur

Heung-Min Son – Tottenham Hotspur

Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace

Women’s Player of the Year

Winner: Jordan Nobbs – Arsenal Women


Millie Bright – Chelsea Ladies

Danielle Carter – Arsenal Women

Katie Chapman – Chelsea Ladies

Fran Kirby – Chelsea Ladies

Young Player of the Year (under 23)

Winner: Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham


Andreas Christensen – Chelsea

Ainsley Maitland-Niles – Arsenal

Davinson Sánchez – Tottenham Hotspur

Harry Winks – Tottenham Hotspur

The Awards were hosted by Mark Chapman and his co-host was none other than my mate and soccer Am’s funny man Lloyd Griffith.

The funds raised from the London Football Awards will benefit Willow, the only national charity working with seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 to fulfill uplifting and unforgettable Special Days.

These Special Days enable them and their families to reconnect and refocus on each other while enjoying an activity of their choosing. A day for them, a day about them and a day that will create memories they will all treasure forever.

Willow was founded by former Arsenal goalkeeper and TV presenter Bob Wilson and his wife, Megs, as a lasting memorial to their daughter Anna, who died of cancer aged 31. Since 1999 the charity has fulfilled more than 13,000 Special Days for young adults living with life-threatening conditions such as cancer, motor neurone disease, cystic fibrosis and muscular dystrophy.