Funny Women Stage Award Finalists announced


The leading showcase for female comedy talent in the UK and Ireland, the Funny Women Awards, has arrived at the final phase in its annual search for brilliant new performers, writers and creators.

2020 has been extremely challenging for the live comedy industry and this year’s competition, which launched on 1st April during lockdown, has been run virtually until this final stage.

‘The Funny Women Awards are an important and vital annual celebration of female comedy talent, so we decided to go ahead despite the restrictions imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic by taking our activity online.’ says Lynne Parker, Funny Women founder and CEO. ‘Women make a huge and valuable cultural contribution to the comedy industry and this year’s cohort of new talent is no exception.’

Now in their 17th year, past winners and finalists of the Funny Women Awards have gone on to become household names. These include Katherine Ryan, Zoe Lyons, Jayde Adams, Desiree Burch, Sara Pascoe, Sarah Millican, Susan Calman, Rachel Parris, Bridget Christie, Kerry Godliman, Diane Morgan and Roisin Conaty. Laura Smyth won the Stage Award in 2019.

Eight finalists out of 320 entrants to this year’s Stage Award have been selected following 10 virtual heats and two live online semi-finals.

The finalists are:

Izzy Askwith, Naomi Cooper, Katie Green, Ania Magliano, Mary O’Connell, Fiona Ridgewell, Christina O’Sullivan, Eryn Tett.

More information below and on this link: