Spread the Word announces 2018 London Writers Awards winners


Spread the Word, London’s writer development agency, is pleased to announce the 30 winners of the inaugural London Writers Awards. The Awards aim to increase the number of London-based writers of colour and working class, LGBTQ+ and disabled writers being taken up by agents and publishers.

Selected through open application, with judges including award-winning writers, editors and agents, the 2018 London Writers Awards’ winners are:


Helen Bowell, Jamie Hale, Annie Hayter, Lily Paine, Merrie Joy Williams, Jemilea Wisdom-Baako.

Literary fiction:

Koyer Ahmed, Tice Cin, Sofia Fara, Sara Jafari, Kira McPherson, Riley Rockford.

Commercial fiction:

Saskia Alais, Arun Das, Nina Duttaroy, Iqbal Hussain, Esther Poyer, Chris Simpson.

Narrative Non-fiction:

Marta Bausells, Gavino di Vino, Stacey Ng, Bunmi Ogunsiji, Elaine Williams, Stephen Wrench.

YA/ children’s:

Anne Chen, Alex Falase-Koya, Sahar Halaimzai, Priscilla Mante, Alexis Rigg, Lui Sit.

The winners will participate in a free intensive nine-month development programme which will include masterclasses led by bestselling authors such as Adam Kay, Catherine Johnson, Claire McGowan and Romesh Gunsekera and career focused sessions supported by founding partners; the Independent Publishers Guild, the Society of Authors, Knights Of; Burning Eye Books; Diamond, Kahn & Woods Literary Agency and Bookouture. The Awards will culminate in a showcase event on 23 May 2019.