Inside the Citi Microentrepreneurship Awards shortlist


16 businesses supported by responsible finance providers have been named as finalists in the Citi Microentrepreneurship Awards.

The Citi Microentrepreneurship Awards are the annual celebration of Britain’s micro-entrepreneurs who have accessed “responsible” business finance. The awards, which launched in 2005, (and in 2013 in the UK) were established by the Citi Foundation to recognise best-in-class micro-entrepreneurs and celebrate the responsible finance sector and their contribution to national economies.

The finalists are:

Growth Award finalists:

• Alpkit, Newthorpe
• GMP Compliance Limited, Hull
• JMP Quality Homecare Ltd (Right at Home Preston)
• Lister Steps, Liverpool

Social Enterprise Award finalists:

• Barley Café, Prestwich
• Bin Cooking Ltd, Sheffield
• The Employability Trust (East Durham)
• Harry Specters, Ely

Sustainability Award finalists:

• All 4 Pets, East Kilbride
• The Argyll Smokery, Argyll
• Killbran Toy Trailers, Dungannon
• Ovenbird Coffee Roasters Ltd, Glasgow

Young Entrepreneur Award finalists:

• Jake Mina Associates Limited t/a Creative Print, Blackpool
• Joshua John Hairdressing, Aberfeldy
• The Milk Lounge, Nottingham
• Ruach Music Ltd, Kilkeel

Responsible Finance providers have been shortlisted in two Awards for providers and two for their staff:

Impact Award finalists:

• Enterprise Loans East Midlands, East Midlands
• Financing Enterprise, London
• Robert Owen Community Finance, Wales
• Wessex Resolutions CIC (WRCIC), South West of England

Resilience Award finalists:

• Key Fund, Yorkshire
• Lancashire Community Finance, North West of England
• Let’s Do Business Finance, South East of England
• Moneyline, North West of England

Responsible Finance Leader Award finalists:

• Sean Dennis, Deputy Chief Executive, Let’s Do Business Finance
• Lisa Greenhalgh, Director and Chief Executive, MISF (Merseyside Small Loans for Business Investment Fund Limited)
• Eric Munro, Director of Community Banking, RBS Social and Community Capital
• Steve Walker, Chief Executive, ART Business Loans, West Midlands

Responsible Finance Loan Officer Award finalists:

• Nicola Cosgrove DSL Business Finance Ltd
• Paul Humphray (MISF – Merseyside Small Loans for Business Investment Fund)
• Xiao Liu (Business Finance Solutions)
• Alex Mearns, Business Finance Solutions