Local councillors nationwide awarded in 14th annual showcase of the best of local government


Tonight, the LGIU and CCLA were proud to unveil the winners of the 2023 Cllr Awards; the only national awards ceremony to celebrate the vital work of local councillors across England and Wales.

At the Guildhall in London, the top prize, Leader of the Year, went to Cllr Tim Oliver of Surrey County Council. Cllr Hannah Perkin from Swale Borough Council walked away with the Community Champion prize and Cllr Connie Nolan of Canterbury City Council claimed Resilience Champion. The judging panel awarded Cllr Saqlain Choudry from Brent Council with Young Councillor of the Year. Lord Gary Porter CBE from South Holland District Council was awarded Lifetime Legend for his service.

Winners triumphed over more than 300 nominations across five categories that celebrate the wide-ranging work of councillors. The Cllr Awards are a hugely important way to champion what councillors do locally as their work can, all too often, go unrecognised. Read more about the winners here.

The Cllr Awards judging panel was made up of senior councillors and leading stakeholders from across the sector. These are the only national awards to celebrate and showcase the work of individual councillors and are only made possible thanks to the generous support of founding partners CCLA.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, Local Government Information Unit (LGIU) said:

“In the face of unprecedented domestic and global challenges over the last year, councillors nationwide have once again exhibited unwavering dedication to serving their constituents. Tonight’s winners show the remarkable contributions local councillors make to their communities and we at LGIU are dedicated to celebrating the achievements that genuinely improve the lives of local residents.

As councils continue to deliver essential services like social care and housing amid a cost of living crisis, these awards are a hugely important way to champion what councillors do locally. I extend heartfelt congratulations to all the Cllr Awards winners this evening. We applaud you for your dedication.”