London schools top the Tes Schools Awards 2021 Shortlist


Pioneers, passionate educators and persistent campaigners are among the extraordinary education talent honoured each year at the Tes Schools Awards, one of the biggest nights in the UK education calendar. Today those schools that have made it onto the 2021 shortlist have been revealed. And for schools in the Greater London area, they have done exceptionally well, with 13 London schools making the shortlist.

After the year it has been for anyone and everyone in education, to be on this year’s shortlist is a huge achievement, showcasing the very best of what the UK education sector has to offer.

This year there are 16 categories as well as two special awards, honouring a Lifetime Achievement and Overall School of the Year.
The shortlist for 2021 is:
Best use of technology

Barmulloch Primary, Glasgow
Broadfields Primary School, Greater London
Cheam Common Junior Academy, Surrey
Lincoln Christ’s Hospital School, Lincolnshire
St Joseph’s Catholic High School, Cumbria
Stone Soup Academy, Nottinghamshire
The Winston Churchill School, Surrey
West Leigh Junior School, Essex
Classroom support assistant of the year

Kieran Wallbank – Emerson Valley School, Buckinghamshire
Julia Davidson – Manchester Secondary Pupil Referral Unit, Greater Manchester
Lisa Ackley – Ormiston Horizon Academy, Staffordshire
Emma Smythe – Parkwood Academy, South Yorkshire
Becky Marie Williams – Solihull Academy, West Midlands
Nikki Casey – Springwell Leeds South, West Yorkshire
Ragini Patel – Tudor Primary School, Greater London
Tracey Dudgeon – West Lothian Inclusion and Wellbeing Service, West Lothian
Community and collaboration award

Archbishop Tenison’s CofE High School, Surrey
Ark Walworth Academy, Greater London
Cadoxton Primary School, Vale of Glamorgan
Frances Olive Anderson Primary School, Lincolnshire
Hartshill School, Warwickshire
Manchester Secondary Pupil Referral Unit, Greater Manchester
Sark School, Guernsey
Waterhead Academy, Greater Manchester
Creative school of the year

Chorlton High School, Greater Manchester
Formby High School, Merseyside
Global Academy, Greater London
Lansbury Lawrence Primary School, Greater London
Queen Katharine Academy, Cambridgeshire
Sneinton CofE Primary School, Nottinghamshire
Thomas Gainsborough School, Suffolk
Woolenwick Infant and Nursery School, Hertfordshire

English teacher or team of the year

Bertha Park High School, Perthshire
Eldon Primary School, Lancashire
Queen Katharine Academy, Cambridgeshire
Sedgefield Community College, County Durham
Karen Sims – Solihull Academy, West Midlands
Joe Harrison – St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, Greater London
Jonny Stone, St Ninian’s High School, Dunbartonshire
The John of Gaunt School, Wiltshire
Environment champion of the year

Andrew Harding – Cardinal Allen High School, Lancashire
Edd Moore – Damers First School, Dorset
Hannah Tombling – Diamond Wood Community Academy, West Yorkshire
Kate MacRae – Michael Drayton Junior School, Warwickshire
Headteacher of the year

Jonathan Ronan – Bonus Pastor Catholic College, Greater London
Andrew Fulbrook – Boston High School, Lincolnshire
Philip Barlow – Chantlers Primary School, Lancashire
Rachel Hutchinson – Ivybridge Community College, Devon
Melanie Haselden – Salford City Academy, Greater Manchester
Sarah Rostron – St Bede CofE Primary Academy, Greater Manchester
Jacky Anne Kennedy – St Joseph’s Catholic High School, Cumbria
Kerrie Henton – Stone Soup Academy, Nottinghamshire
Maths teacher or team of the year

Malton School, North Yorkshire
Parklands Primary School, West Yorkshire
Sedgefield Community College, County Durham
Laura Taylor, St Bede CofE Primary Academy, Greater Manchester
Wymondham College, Norfolk

New teacher of the year

Anna Euston – Bucklesham Primary School, Suffolk
Amara Copsey – Caterham High School, Essex
Zoe Hennchen – Engineering UTC Northern Lincolnshire, Lincolnshire
Sam Craggs – Malton School, North Yorkshire
Alexandra Hurst – Selly Park Girls’ School, West Midlands
Nick Clark – The George Eliot School, Warwickshire
James Clarke – Whitefield School, Greater London
Georgina Hodgson – Whitefield School, Greater London

Chief judge of the Tes Schools Awards and Editor of Tes magazine Jon Severs said:
“It is more important this year than ever before to celebrate the fantastic work schools do, because in the past 12 months they have gone above and beyond to ensure pupils were able to be educated and be kept safe in extraordinary circumstances. We were inundated with entries that demonstrated just how hard the pandemic made the work of schools, and just how amazing the response from staff has been. We are looking forward to showcasing, as we do every year, just how vital our education professionals are to every facet of this country.”

After a very successful online awards ceremony last year, we are once again holding this year’s awards ceremony virtually. Winners will be announced on Friday 25th June. But there will be no shortage of excitement as schools from around the country will be honoured for their amazing and tireless work.