London Press Club announces Annual Awards shortlist


The London Press Club today announces the shortlist for its prestigious annual awards.

The winners will be announced at the London Press Club Awards Lunch on Tuesday 30 April.  The keynote speaker at the lunch will be BBC journalist Nick Robinson.  BBC news journalist and Strictly Come Dancing contestant Kate Silverton will compere the Awards Lunch which will be held at Stationers & Newspaper Makers Hall near St Paul’s.

The identity of the winner of The Londoner of the Year Award will be revealed at the Awards Lunch.  Previous winners have included Her Majesty The Queen, Lord Coe, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Paula Radcliffe and last year was presented posthumously to PC Keith Palmer who died in the Westminster terror attack.  It was received on his behalf by Metropolitan Police Commissioner Cressida Dick and Mayor of London Sadiq Khan.

The shortlist is:

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Evening Standard

Financial Times

The Sun

The Times

Sunday Newspaper of the Year

The Observer

Sunday Mirror

The Sunday Times

Business Journalist of the Year

Jim Armitage, Evening Standard

Madison Marriage, Financial Times

Mark Kleinman, Sky News

Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Channel 4 News Investigative Team

Clive Myrie, BBC News

Katya Adler and Laura Kuenssberg, BBC News

Digital Journalist of the Year

Bellingcat Investigative Team for their work in identifying the Russian operatives at the heart of the Sergei Skripal story and their transparency in revealing how they did it.

Daniel Adamson, Aliaume Leroy and Ben Strick (BBC Africa Eye journalists) whose investigation, Anatomy of a Killing, and subsequent twitter thread on killings in Cameroon was retweeted 56,000 times.

Maeve McClenaghan, Bureau Local, for #MakeThemCount, the collaborative investigation with Channel 4 and local journalists that she led about homeless deaths across the UK, which brought about a change in legislation in 2018.

Print Journalist of the Year

Alison Phillips, Daily Mirror

Amelia Gentleman, The Guardian

Sean O’Neill, The Times

Scoop of the Year

Cambridge Analytica Investigation, The Guardian

The John Worboys Campaign, The Sun

The Windrush Scandal, The Guardian

Edgar Wallace Award for writing or reporting of the highest quality

To be announced on the day

Londoner of the Year Award

To be announced on the day